Your Face is Not Enough 

A long time ago

My mother told me someone 

Will fall in love with your mind, 

and not the way you look. I was

Struck dumb by the second

Part as if, in a sweeping cruel caress she had

– rightly – proclaimed never would I

Have one of those God-drawn faces, faces so biting and virile

They made man and woman alike

Look back.
I have lost track 

Of the times I have tightly bound up 

And squeezed my heart into

A compartment too small; thinking

As women do, that I am not enough.

About fiercemissc

Twenty-something Geordie girl living and working in Hong Kong. Young, free and single and making the most of it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

